Highway Traffic Act Offences Lawyer in Norris Beach Alberta

Highway Traffic Act Offences Lawyer in Toronto Ontario

You would be hard pressed to find someone with a driver’s licence who had not received a speeding ticket in the history of his or her life behind the wheel. Before paying a speeding ticket, however, you should be aware of the implications. Sending in the payment for a ticket is an instant admission of guilt. Aside from the financial cost, there are other consequences to paying a ticket.

Understanding Demerit Points

Any speeding offence over 15 km per hour will result in demerit points on your driving record. There are many misconceptions regarding demerit points. One does not “lose” demerit points on their record. All licensed drivers start with zero points and gain points for being convicted of breaking certain traffic laws. Did you know that demerit points stay on your record for two years from the offence date? If you collect enough points, you can lose your driver’s license.

Highway Traffic Act - Other Consequences

Highway Traffic Act charges may have serious consequences. Increases in driving insurance premiums are connected to Highway Traffic Act convictions. Driving while one’s Licence is Under Suspension, for example, can result in jail time. There could also be substantial fines and driving prohibitions attached to offences in some situations. All this can have an impact on one's livelihood if a person needs to drive for work.

If you are charges under the Highway Traffic Act, it is sensible to contact a criminal defence lawyer to mitigate the damage to your driving record. Caramanna, Friedberg LLP can help you navigate the system. We have successfully defended hundreds of Highway Traffic Act cases. Please contact our office at (416) 924-5969 for a consultation.

See also, dui / over 80

* Able to temporarily practice in the following Provinces and Territories per the National Mobility Agreement or the Territorial Mobility Agreement as signed by the Law Society of Ontario.

  • British Columbia
  • Alberta
  • Saskatchewan
  • Manitoba
  • Ontario
  • Nova Scotia
  • New Brunswick
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Prince Edward Island
  • The Territories - Northwest Territories, Yukon, Nunavut