What Are The Three Phases To The Extradition Process?<

According to the Department of Justice:

"There are three key stages to the Canadian extradition process:

  • Authority to Proceed: The Minister of Justice must determine whether to authorize the commencement of extradition proceedings in the Canadian courts by issuing an "˜Authority to Proceed';
  • Judicial Phase: Where an Authority to Proceed has been issued, the Canadian courts must determine whether there is sufficient evidence to justify the person's committal for extradition; and
  • Ministerial Phase: Where the person is committed for extradition, the Minister of Justice must personally decide whether to order the person's surrender to the foreign state."



We're Here To Help